About the Pwnies

The Pwnie Awards is an annual awards ceremony celebrating the achievements (and failures) of security researchers and the security community.


The Pwnie Award nominations are judged by a panel of respected security researchers – the closest to a jury of peers a hacker is likely to ever get – and former pwnie award recipients.

2021 and prior year Judges include:

Brandon EdwardsCharlie MillerChris ValasekDave Aitel
Justine BoneKelly ShortridgeDave GoldsmithTomP
Mark DowdMudgeHalvarKatie Moussouris
Daniel GrussDhiraj MishraBuheratorJoernchen

awards offered

In 2024, there will be 11 award categories:

  1. Pwnie for Best Desktop Bug
  2. Pwnie for Mobile Bug
  3. Pwnie for Best Cryptographic Attack
  4. Pwnie for Best Song
  5. Pwnie for Most Innovative Research
  6. Pwnie for Most Under-hyped Research
  7. Pwnie for Privilege Escalation
  8. Pwnie for Remote Code Execution
  9. Pwnie for Lamest Vendor Response
  10. Pwnie for Most Epic Fail
  11. Pwnie for Epic Achievement


The Pwnie Awards accepts nominations for bugs disclosed from July 1, 2023 to June 30, 2024.

The top three nominees in each category are announced simultaneously at Summercon in Brooklyn, NY on July 14 and on this website. The panel of judges gather at an undisclosed location (it’s called “cyberspace”) to vote on the winners.


The Pwnie Awards thank BlackHat for providing a venue for the awards ceremony, Summercon for continuous support of the awards and nomination process, and the tireless volunteers who make the magic happen. Please inquire below for other sponsorship opportunities, but keep in mind that sponsoring the awards will have no influence on the judges. We will gladly take your money and spend it on things that we shouldn’t, like booze or luxury watches or paying our ChatGPT bill.

contact us

To contact the Pwnie Awards organizers, email [email protected], or DM us on twitter X.